This article is about learners.Before 2014, primary school continued on to year seven in Western Australia, South Australia and Queensland.The student rights movement has centered itself on the empowerment of students similar to the labor movement.

Then Year Seven and Year Eight are Intermediate, and from Year Nine until Year Thirteen, a student would attend a secondary school or a college.In some provinces, grades 1 through 6 are called "elementary school grades 6 to 8 are called "middle school" or "junior high school and grades 9 to 12 are considered high school.To the more independent learning environment associated with the senior cycle.

Many schools have an alternate name for first years, some with a derogatory basis, but in others acting merely as a description for example "shells" (non-derogatory) or "grubs" (derogatory).Citation needed Iran edit In Iran 12-year school is categorized in two stages: Elementary school and High school.As there is no overall national coordinating authority, the way the educational stages are grouped and named differs from region to region.